A driver even slightly above the maximum legal blood alcohol level of 0.08% has significantly impaired judgment, vision, and reaction time, making them much more likely to cause an accident—potentially one that leads to serious injury or even death. Victims of drunk driving accidents in Illinois are eligible for substantial compensation to cover both their economic and noneconomic losses. An Elgin drunk driving accident lawyer from the Kryder Law Group, LLC, can help you pursue compensation.
Our drunk driving accident lawyers in Elgin, IL, have been helping victims recover compensation for years. We have a long and successful track record. Our lawyers believe they can build a compelling case on your behalf. We are so confident that we never collect a fee until we recover money for you. We offer a free consultation, at which we will go over all your options and what to expect.
To speak with a member of our team today and receive a free drunk driving accident case evaluation, call the Kryder Law Group, LLC, at (312) 223-1700.
What You Need to Know About Illinois Drunk Driving Laws
A person convicted of driving under the influence can face fines, jail time, loss of license, and more, according to the Illinois State Police. Even when they regain their driving privileges, a person may be required to blow into a breathalyzer just for their car ignition to start.
In addition to these criminal penalties, a drunk driver also faces civil liability for injuries and property damage caused by their irresponsible actions. In fact, they may be financially responsible for damages, even if they avoid a DUI conviction in criminal court or successfully plead down to a lesser charge (such as reckless driving).
Depending on the severity of the offense and whether the driver has past DUI convictions, driving under the influence could be a misdemeanor or a felony. A drunk driving accident leading to severe bodily injury usually gets classified as aggravated DUI, which is always a felony. At the Kryder Law Group, LLC, we can push for an aggravated DUI charge, which — regardless of the outcome in criminal court — can make it easier to prove our case in a civil trial.
Penalties For the First Offense
The Illinois State Police reports that a first-time DUI offender may face the following penalties:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to a $2,500 fine
- Loss of driver’s license for up to one year
Penalties For the Second Offense
For a second-offense DUI, an offender may be subject to:
- Up to one year in jail, with a minimum of five days
- Up to a $2,500 fine
- Loss of driver’s license for five years
Penalties For the Third Offense
A driver who gets convicted of DUI for the third time faces:
- Up to seven years in jail, with 18 to 30 months mandatory
- Up to a $25,000 fine
- Loss of driver’s license for 10 years
What You Need to Know About Aggravated DUI
Aggravated DUI is a special classification of drunk driving that applies to anyone who:
- Drives under the influence of either drugs or alcohol
- Causes a crash that results in significant bodily harm or disfigurement of the victim
If you were seriously injured in an Elgin drunk driving accident, we can push for this charge to be applied, which can give our civil case for compensation a major boost. On the criminal side, a person convicted of aggravated DUI faces:
- Up to 12 years in jail, with a minimum of 10 days mandatory
- Up to a $25,000 fine
- Loss of driver’s license for a minimum of one year
No matter the circumstances of your accident, an Elgin drunk driving accident lawyer with the Kryder Law Group, LLC, will take the time to understand the details of your case, identify the responsible party or parties, gather evidence, and push for the maximum level of compensation allowed by Illinois law. We will fight for your rights. We do not get paid until we secure compensation for you.
For a free, no-obligation case evaluation, call our team today at (312) 223-1700.
For a free legal consultation with a drunk driving accidents lawyer serving Elgin, call (312) 598-0739
Your Potentially Recoverable Compensation
Our Elgin drunk driving accident lawyers will fight for fair compensation. The Illinois Department of Insurance states that you have the right to seek compensation from the insurance provider of the intoxicated driver who injured you (or who injured or killed your loved one). We will take them and their insurance company on and push back against any attempt to pay you less than you are eligible to collect.
We can help you pursue a settlement, judgment, or award that includes compensation for:
- Current and future medical bills
- Lost wages
- Reduced earning capacity
- Pain and suffering and inconvenience
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Emotional distress
- Wrongful death (if your loved one lost their life)
Elgin Drunk Driving Accidents Lawyer Near Me (312) 598-0739
The Statute of Limitations on Car Accident Lawsuits Is Generally Two Years
The Illinois Code of Civil Procedure 735 ILCS 5/13-202 imposes a two-year statute of limitations on personal injury claims arising from car accidents. At the Kryder Law Group, LLC, we will work with you to take any relevant legal action within appropriate timelines. If we need to, we can file a quick lawsuit to keep your case active.
Call For a Free Elgin Drunk Driving Case Evaluation Today
We are ready to get to work for you today. If you or an immediate family member has been impacted by a drunk driving accident in or near Elgin, we want to hear from you. For a free, no-obligation case evaluation, call the Kryder Law Group, LLC, at (312) 223-1700.